Instagram is one of the most used social media platforms. It’s not only the youth that’s addicted to the app, but many grown-ups can’t get enough of it. Not for entertainment purposes alone. Many have created online personas to gain attention from their target audience. That’s why entrepreneurs and businesses use Instagram to reach a larger demographic.
There are many benefits one can reap from using a social media app. But it depends on the intention. People frequently use these channels to catfish individuals into believing they’re talking to some famous influencer. This mindset has gained popularity, especially with the increase in anonymity and privacy.
Not only catfishing but spoofing and phishing have increased since social media platforms’ evolution. It started off from MySpace, and now, we are constantly bombarded with a new app every second. Hence, this makes it harder to differentiate real accounts from fake ones.
But enough talk about the good and bad side of Instagram and other social media apps. The creators are constantly providing users with unique features that improve their experience. One feature that gained popularity is “vanish mode.” Let’s take a closer look at how it’s changed the game without further ado.
Table of contents
What is Vanish Mode on Instagram?
Vanish mode on Instagram is something you can use in your chats to maintain privacy. It’s a feature introduced a couple of years ago. You can send messages, photos, videos and whatnot to anyone. They disappear after you close the chat or switch back to their normal settings.
But before you can access this interesting feature, update your Messenger feature on Instagram. This requires no effort. So, if you haven’t tried it, it’s time you give vanish mode a go. It is a piece of cake that deletes any messages sent while it’s on.
How do I Turn On Vanish Mode on Instagram?
You might have swiped right and left on dating sites. But this time, Instagram is asking you to swipe up! Yes, you heard it right. All you need to do is swipe up and see it change modes in milliseconds. That’s how easy it is to turn on the vanish mode on Instagram.
How does Vanish Mode Works?
The instructions are quite simple. But if you’re still considering how it works, then here it is:
- “Messages disappear after they’re seen”
It seems quite self-explanatory how messages in a chat disappear after the recipient and sender view them. Hence, the messages are no longer visible after closing the chat.
- “Switch up in a chat to switch modes”
There is no hard and fast rule for when you “swipe up” the vanish mode. It can stay on as long as you want or whenever you want to use it.
- “Vanish mode is shared”
If you turn on the vanish mode from your end, it’s “swiped up” for everyone. However, it’s interesting to note how this feature is limited to one-on-one chats.
- “Conversations can be reported”
Many users might think it’s the perfect way to harass or abuse anyone. There is no accountability. But think twice. Any message sent in vanish mode can still be reported, even if they’re no longer visible. So, you shouldn’t act foolishly.
How do I Send Messages in Vanish Mode on Instagram?
Once you have the vanish mode in your Instagram chat, worry no more. Just write whatever and see the messages disappear after you close the chat and the other person views it. This may sound magical, but it’s one of the most loved features of Instagram.
You can play pranks with your friends by messaging someone in their chats and waiting for the other person to hold a conversation. This way, your friend wouldn’t know why someone is talking to them about “potatoes,” for instance.
However, if you or the recipient takes a screenshot of the chat, the other person will immediately be notified. So, if it’s something private, think twice before taking one.
How to turn off Vanish mode on Instagram?
As easy as it is to turn on vanish mode, it’s that simple to turn it off. You swiped up to turn it on. Now, swipe up again and see the circle complete. You no longer have your vanish mode on. Another interesting thing to note is that no one else apart from the recipient, and you know the vanish mode is on or off. Any conversation you have is all in the clear.
Also, the moment you switch back to normal, the black screen changes to your usual background. You can send any messages as usual and see that they remain in the chat. So, if you have anyone snooping around your device, vanish mode is your savior.
The Future of Vanish Mode
Instagram has blessed everyone with vanish mode to improve privacy. But right now, it’s just restricted to personal one-on-one chats. We might see vanish mode pop up in group chats in the near future. It’s something that might make things more interesting.
No one outside of the group can read your private messages. Everyone in the chat will be notified, even if someone tries to take a screenshot. That’s how privacy is guaranteed. Additionally, vanish mode is still not available in Europe. So, they might provide their services to European countries as well.