How to Deactivate Instagram Account

Instagram allows you to either deactivate an account temporarily or delete it permanently.

If you want to take a break from Instagram, choose to deactivate or delete. To temporarily deactivate or permanently delete the account, you have to use a web browser. Instagram phone app won’t allow you to deactivate or delete your account.

The best part is that Instagram allows you to export all the data to your computer in its new update. So, for whatever reason, you’re going to deactivate an account; we’re here for guidance and a step-by-step process. 

Why Do People Deactivate Instagram Accounts?

Instagram is a highlighted part of our daily routine, and it influences us in many ways. Somehow trends are set into our minds by Instagrammers.

It seems that people between the age of 30 – 50 lose their interest in Instagram. In a survey by Digital Information World, 21% of the respondents said that Instagram made them feel anxious and stressed about the world’s happenings. Fearing that ongoing posts on social media may harm their mental health.

It’s also worth noting that the latest security and privacy issues have contributed to the outflow of users from social networking sites, including Instagram. That’s why social media is experiencing an exodus, as people are concerned about their privacy.

How To Deactivate Instagram Account?


Deactivating an account is a secure option because, unlike deletion, you can get it back by doing the former. Instagram allows the option to deactivate an account. By doing so, you can still recover the account, including the photos, videos, comments and likes.

Follow the below-mentioned steps to deactivate Instagram account:

  • Open a web page on a desktop or mobile phone.
  • Log in to the Instagram account at the Instagram webpage.
  • Click on the “Edit profile” option at the top of the profile page.
  • Click on the “Temporarily disable my account” option at the bottom of the page.
  • Select the reason from “why you’re disabling the account.”
  • Re-enter the password.
  • Click again on the “Temporarily disable account” at the bottom left of the page. 

After deactivation, the account won’t appear in a search list. No one can see your profile and comments. But the data will be secured like chats, posts and saved items till the reactivation of the account. 

How Long Can You Disable Instagram?

The account can be disabled as long as you want. It can reactivate later at any time by just logging back in. The only restriction that Instagram has made is to deactivate an account once per week. After the account is reactivated, there’s a restriction period of one week to deactivate it again.

How To Delete an Instagram Account?

Another option that Instagram provides is to delete the account. If you’re thinking of deleting an Instagram account you need to realize that you will never be able to have access to it ever again. Deleting an account means that you’ll lose the account forever and all of the associated data, including photos, videos, comments, likes and followers. So it’s better to download your data first.

Here is a step-by-step guide for how to delete an Instagram account.

1: If you want to delete an account permanently, open a webpage on a computer.

2: Then, go to the “Delete your account” page after logging in to the Instagram account.

3: Choose an option from the drop-down menu “Why are you deleting your account?”.

4: Re-enter the password.

5: Now tap on the “Permanently delete my account” option.

How To Download Instagram Data? 

Instagram gives an option to download the data at any time. It may take up to 48 hours for Instagram to provide you with a download link. Even if you aren’t deactivating an account, the application still allows you to download the data. It’ll be better if you save data and information beforehand to avoid any inconvenience in the future.

Follow the a to z instructions given below;

A: To access your profile, tap on the profile picture in the lower right corner.

B: Then you have to click on the icon in the upper right corner.

C: From there, select the “Settings” option.

D: After that, click on the “Security” button and then “Access Data.”

E: Lastly, tap on the “View All” option to view a specific type of data.

Instagram is a fun app, but not all people enjoy using it. We hope this guide makes deactivating the Instagram account a bit easier. Whether you just want to take a break from the stream or want to stay away from social media entirely. We’ve got you covered if you need to know how to delete an Instagram account. 

Let us know in the comment section if you find this article helpful!  


- Advertisement -

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow us for latest news!

- Advertisement -

Latest News

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -